#ThrowbackThursday

Younes Family 2012 151
November 5, 2012 – Solo shot on family portrait day.

My life was very different three years ago.  I was living with my parents.  I was set on going to graduate school and earning a master’s degree in social work.  I wrestled with my demons silently.  My personal relationships suffered as a result.  I put most of my energy into making another person happy.  I was not content, but I was hopeful that things would work out in my favor…. eventually.

20131104_134150
November 5, 2013 – Taking a selfie on the job.

My life was very different two years ago.  I was working a job that did my mind, body, and spirit more harm than good.  I came to work anxious and in fear of losing my job on a daily basis.  I loved the work I did with my clients; they taught me about myself and showed me exactly what I was capable of.  I wasn’t content, but I was hopeful that my situation would change for the better.

November 5, 2014 – A selfie before hitting the pavement to hand out my resume to small businesses in town.

My life was very different last year.  The above picture was taken just before arriving in town to hand out copies of my resume.  At this point, I had not been employed since July.  Unemployment was wearing on me.  I babysat my boyfriend’s nephew during the day and made pennies writing at night.  I wasn’t content, but I was hopeful that current circumstances would turn around.

IMG_20151105_212458
November 5, 2015 – A selfie with a flower crown… because I can.

My life is very different today.  I live with the love of my life.  We have a furbaby.  I’m a full time student (again).  I have a good job.  I have great friends.  I still don’t have any clue about what I’m doing with my life.  I’m happier with myself.  I’m not content with my life, but I’m hopeful.  Period.

Hair changes.  Life junk changes.  Weight changes.  Location changes.  However, the desire to improve and do better remains.  I have become more content with who I am in each picture.  I grew in between each instant.  And I’m still growing.  Next year is going to be cool.  I can feel it.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

5 thoughts on “#ThrowbackThursday”

Leave a Reply

