What Are YOU Listening To? // Top 5 Autumn Drive Tracks

autumn1

We’ve been having beautiful autumn days here in Maryland!  The sunshine and temperature is perfect for early afternoon drives with the windows down.  And because I’m a big proponent of cranking my music up on long drives, here’s a brief smattering of the songs I’ve been jamming to recently.

  1. “Tupelo Honey” by Van Morrison.  This is a great lazy day, golden-hour-sun-streaming-in-the-windows kind of song.  I’m not a huge Van Morrison fan, but this song hits me in a big way, making me feel all kinds of warm and cozy and sometimes (but not very often) kind of sexy.

2. “No Name #3” by Elliott Smith.  I remember the day Elliott Smith passed away.  It was October 21st, 2003; I was in journalism class, headphones on, clutching my discman tight all day.  I suppose it is around this time of year I listen to Elliott Smith most often.

3. “Passport Radio” by Broken Social Scene.  This song was my first introduction to the Canadian collective, and I loved it instantly.  The album, “Feel Good Lost,” consists of mostly instrumentals.  It’s a great album for long drives with a friend; it provides a soundtrack for great conversation.

4. “Autumn Sweater” by Yo La Tengo.  I’m a predictable hipster or something.  This song has a metric fucktonne of sentimental value to me.  That’s all I need to say about that.

5. “The High Road” by Broken Bells.  I love James Mercer’s project Broken Bells more than I love The Shins.  That sounds blasphemous.  I stand by that statement.  Very chill track.  Great for autumn walks.  Great thinking music as well.

What are you guys listening to?  Let me know!

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

1 thought on “What Are YOU Listening To? // Top 5 Autumn Drive Tracks”

Leave a Reply

