Nearing Midnight

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Twitter reminded me this morning that Explosion in the Sky‘s album “The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place” was released exactly twelve years ago today.  I didn’t discover the album until two years later, but upon listening, I was hooked.

That being said, the reminder caused me to take a trip down memory lane, mentally traveling back to the year 2003.  I started thinking about how I’ve changed, and what the norm was then versus what the norm is now.  A lot has changed.

On November 4, 2003, I was seventeen and a senior in high school.  I had a flip phone.  I drove a Mercury Sable.  I made mix CDs like it was my job.  My go-to Starbucks order was a chai latte and a blackbottom cupcake.  My parents didn’t like my friends, and warned me about “those people.”

Twelve years later, I have a smart phone.  Mercury as a car manufacturer doesn’t even exist anymore.  Mix CDs are a thing of the past.  Starbucks became too high-brow for blackbottom cupcakes.  I became the kind of person my mother warned me about.

Thing is, though, “those people” are great people.  “Those people” became my closest confidants and allies.  Had my mother gotten to know them early on, she would have realized that I surrounded myself with people who reflected my values, morals, and ethics (for the most part).

I’m still here.  I’m still a decent human being (I’m being a realist, okay?)  Those people stood the test of time.  I stood the test of time.  Kind of like a fucking excellent album.  And that works for me.

It’s drizzling out and nearing midnight.  I’m going to finish my glass of wine with the windows open so I can hear the rain pitter patter while I unwind, and I’m going to listen to this album and devote most, if not all, of my attention to it.

Because it’s pretty okay, and so am I.

I’ll leave you with my favorite track.  Sleep tight, y’all.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

6 thoughts on “Nearing Midnight”

  1. Great post and so true. 12 years ago I would’ve been 23 years old with a newborn baby on my hip sipping the same Chai Latte’s that you loved. 🙂 Time sure does change things but one thing it didn’t change for me was my love of Chai… lol Or my love of a good album that has stood the test of time. Thanks for sharing the song!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

