NaBloPoMo Prompt – November 4th, 2015

Well, already November 4th and I’ve neglected to blog for two days.  But I will not dwell, nor will I let that discourage me from continuing to write for the month.  So today, we’ll have a three-for-one.

actual real work

Today’s NaNoWriMo prompt is: “When you were a kid, did you want to have the same job or a different job than your parents when you grew up?”

As a child, I didn’t have a very good understanding of my parents or their jobs.  I remember accompanying them on “Take Your Daughter To Work” day, but being completely and utterly unenthused about the entire ordeal.  All I knew was that my mother had the best places to eat near her job, and my father had the best office supplies to steal.

Early on, I had a feeling that office work was not a long-term plan for me.  My first job was at a daycare, and I thrived in that environment.  I was able to get up and play with the kids, not being restricted to one area or environment.  I was also free to be a goofball.  The jobs I’ve held since then have required varying degrees of professionalism.  I find that I thrive most when I can interact with people, and when I’m not stuck behind a desk.

My interests have almost always revolved around helping people or animals.  My first career choice was marine biologist.  I love orca whales, a love most like inspired by “Free Willy.”  After that, I wanted to work with primates.  In my teenage years, my focus shifted to people.  I considered early childhood education, but for some reason I did not pursue it.  I honestly have no clue.

I shied away from my first major, journalism, after I realized I would be working from a cubicle, reporting on the lives of people I have no direct effect upon.  Even now, I have doubts about going into a field that operates primarily from a computer, and find myself less and less motivated as a result.  But I’m going to complete the program.  And then from there, who knows?

Social work was a field in which I excelled, up until the distinct point in which I didn’t.  I still look back on working with patients and clients fondly.  And my day to day enjoyment came from changes of scenery as well as pushing people towards their goals as opposed to pushing papers from the inbox to the outbox.  I miss it a lot, and still try to come up with ways to bridge my background with what I am learning currently.  I think there is a way.  And I’m going to find it, dammit.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

Leave a Reply

