The Gift of Freedom // “Desperately Wanting”

Freedom #1: Coloring my hair pink the day after the break-up.
Freedom #1: Coloring my hair pink the day after the break-up.

Monday, June 1, 2015
Ready Set Go: Set a timer for 20 minutes and write about the best present you ever received. (Don’t overthink these time-sensitive prompts. Just set the timer, write however much you can write in the time allotted, finish the post, and hit publish.)

My break-up with my ex-boyfriend, while traumatic as it was, was perhaps one of the best things that ever happened to me.  And while he thought he was taking something away from me, he was in fact giving me one of the best presents I’ve ever received: the gift of freedom.

It was Monday, June 24th.  I remember the date because I had returned from the Firefly Music Festival earlier in the day.  I managed to get to work on-time after the 2.5 hour long drive back from Delaware that morning.  He said he wanted to hear about the festival.  He told me to come over after I got off of work.  And so I did.

The details of the break up aren’t necessarily important.  It was a break-up.  It was ugly and there were tears.  I was angry and hurt and confused.  But after awhile, I was relieved.

Maybe it’s odd to feel relief while having been dumped.  I don’t know exactly.  It was a new sensation for me because for the first time since the relationship started, I felt free.  I felt the possibilities were endless and my abilities were limitless.

I drove home after the break-up and I took the long way through the city.  I drove on I-395, the highway connecting Washington D.C. with Virginia.  I rolled all of the windows down and sped as fast as my car would take me.  The Washington Monument and Jefferson memorial were both illuminated and eye catching, and on that last drive from my ex’s place to mine, I took everything in.  That stretch of interstate was the best part of the commute to and from the ex’s place.

“Desperately Wanting” by Better Than Ezra poured through the speakers.  I remember this because I sang at the top of my lungs as I drove.  Feeling free, the wind tangling and twisting my hair, the monuments behind me, I told myself that this would be the last time I see this.  And it was, at least from the starting point of his house.

Truth be told, the nine months following the break-up were messy.  There were ups and downs.  But great things came out of them.  Experiences, lessons, self-discovery, and a new love.  All things that were made possible by the cutting of ties.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Freedom // “Desperately Wanting””

  1. I like this story. It just goes to show that most of the time, there is good stuff hiding behind bad stuff! I love that picture of you with the pink hair…and I love the look of confidence (and freedom) in your eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

