Aaaand, we’re back.

A lot has happened since I updated last.  My doctor thought I had cancer.  I don’t have cancer.  I got a job the same day my doctor told me I needed to remove my ovary.  The mass in my ovary grew.  On operation day, there was no mass to be found, indicating that the mass burst between my last MRI and the date of surgery.  I was opened up for nothing, but my reproductive organs are in tact.  Recovery was difficult because I had to rely on others to do things.  My friends reminded me why they’re my friends.  My grandfather passed away a week after my surgery.  I managed to squeak out A’s in two classes.  I received an incomplete in my manual drafting class, and I have 3 months to complete the assignments.  It’s Friday and I’m on the clock until 4 PM.

I’ve been tired. I’ve been incredibly sad. I’ve been uncomfortable. I’ve been happy. I’ve been thankful. I’ve been angry. I feel a lot of things at once.

I’d like to get back into maintaining my blog.  I’d like to partake in June’s NaBloPoMo, but I don’t think I can commit to writing every day with all that is going on.  I need to draw.  I need to work.  I need to find time to do restorative things for myself.  My body and mind need restoration desperately.

This man came into the shop to try on glasses just now.  He flirted with me, which was interesting.  I flirted back in an attempt to make a sale.  He said I have a pretty name.

That made the day a touch easier to get through.  I blushed a little.

And that’s me in a nutshell.  How are y’all doing?

11230668_10100219368886829_4510689900569221928_n

I miss you, old man.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

1 thought on “Aaaand, we’re back.”

  1. I’m glad to see you. A lot has happened with me, too. I too had a mass on my ovary. The CT scan (I have no insurance but ended up in the ER in great pain) showed I had a “basketball sized” cyst filled with fluid attached to my ovary. An ovary I didn’t know I had. I was supposed to have had a complete hysterectomy 19 years ago! In any case, the cyst, which made me look pregnant, was pushing on all of my organs. It had to come out. It did. On April 16 I had the surgery which removed the cyst along with 20 liters of fluid, my appendix, my ovaries and tubes and some of the fatty lining of the abdomen (because cancer cells like to hide there). My pathology came back as malignant but the organs all all gone and supposedly none of the surrounding organs have been effected. It is a type of cancer that “almost never” recurs. We’ll have to keep a close eye on that, just in case. I have to go in every three months for a pelvic exam. And my father died three weeks after my surgery when I still could not travel so I did not get to see him. I still have not gotten the doctor’s thumbs up so I can start doing normal things. He says my recovery will be protracted because of the size of the cyst they removed. But I am alive. And I feel so much better, so much lighter. I can walk easily now. I can fit behind the steering wheel of the car once again. And I can wear non maternity clothes! Yay! I hope you are able to blog more regularly. I think it’s important for your recovery and for your creativity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

