Charming Little Couch // “You Make My Dreams Come True”

running through ikea

My boyfriend and I purchased a loveseat today.  No, it wasn’t at IKEA.  We went to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore closest to us.  Visiting the ReStore can be a hit or miss kind of ordeal.  Today, within five minutes of walking into the store, we had a hit.  We came away with a white loveseat for $30.

We also lucked into some kitchen table chairs, courtesy of boyfriend’s brother and sister-in-law.  We went to JoAnn Fabrics and bought sturdy fabric and foam to reupholster the seats.  Our last stop of the night was to Walmart for spray paint for the chairs.  I start on the chair re-beautification project tomorrow.

We played Tetris with what little storage space we have and the overabundance of stuff we have in our living area; over the course of an hour, we moved things around enough to make everything fit nicely.  The living room is actually nice, and we have adequate seating for guests now.  I’m less anxious about our party this Friday.  Maybe it will turn out alright after all!

oh yeah

I’m excited to DIY some stuff.  I got crafty with table decorations and festive potpourri a few weeks ago.  Now I’m going to learn how to reupholster chairs.  I’ve never done it before, but I get the gist of it after researching how-to guides.  Fuck yeah productivity!

I’m a tattooed, pierced, shit-talking Martha Stewart over here.

The song of the night is “You Make My Dreams Come True” by Hall & Oates, and I have no good explanation for why I’m picking this song.  It’s a good representation of how I’m feeling, I guess.  Everything is pretty wonderful.  I feel in my gut that things are taking off in a good direction.  I can see progress.  It’s enough to lift anyone’s spirits.  And sharing that with my boyfriend?  Well, that’s pretty cool, too.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

3 thoughts on “Charming Little Couch // “You Make My Dreams Come True””

  1. Isn’t it a great feeling to be able to say “I did it myself” when someone compliments one of your DIY projects? I think it is. I love learning to do things myself, even if I only do the same thing once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

