Simple // “I Hope Things Go The Way I Hope”

939467_813138004799_1314964476_o
Taken by my best friend over a decade ago. Wow.

I miss when things were more “simple.”

In all honesty, things were never truly simple, but when we long for the past, we romanticize these less complex times and every imperfect time and place melts away.  We hold a time, an age, a period of thought high on a pedestal when we know damn well it doesn’t deserve to be there.  Things then were just as simple as they are now, in that they weren’t at all.  Not ever.

listening to vinyl

A friend of mine suggested I check out a few new bands, so I spent time doing that tonight.  It sent me into a nostalgia spiral, and my mood has been labile ever since.  It’s reminiscent of the music I loved in high school, and it seems like it was just yesterday.  I miss being able to get stoned at a playground, eat a corn dog, and watch people interact with one another and their environment.  I miss looking at clouds and trying to figure out what shape they most resembled.

I guess I miss the newness of things.

Today was good overall.  I’m just in a funk this evening.  Thinking too much, I guess.  I still don’t know how to cope with overthinking.  I’ve not been able to figure out a surefire way to quiet my brain down.  I need to soon.  Bedtime is just around the corner.

Tonight’s song is “I Hope Things Go The Way I Hope” by Tiny Moving Parts.  They’re quickly becoming one of my favorites.  The nostalgia factor is incredibly high.  I was an emo fan in high school; I devoured every song I could find by Sunny Day Real Estate, The Get Up Kids, Cap’n Jazz, Mineral and the like.  Not at all how we regard emo these days (what is it really? Pop-scremo?).  Would post-hardcore be more accurate to describe “good emo?”  Who knows and who cares, really?  Anyway, this band takes me back to a comfy place in my brain.  It might not be your cup of tea, and that’s okay.  Just give it a go.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

1 thought on “Simple // “I Hope Things Go The Way I Hope””

Leave a Reply

