When We’re Home // “I Like The Way This Is Going”

there's no place like home black and white

The best time of day is five o’clock in the afternoon.

My boyfriend comes home from work around then and we spend a few minutes catching up; we talk about his job and we talk about my writing, we talk about what to eat for dinner, we talk about what movie to put on, we talk about how awesome it will be to snuggle before bed.

Five o’clock is “No Pants O’Clock” around here, as we strip down to our undies and carry on with normal tasks.  I cook in my undies.  He fixes computers in his undies.  We play Magic The Gathering in our undies.  It’s just what we do.  It’s just a matter of being comfortable.

I used to go out a lot.  I was convinced everyone in the world was having fun and I was stuck inside.  Now I know that it just depends on the company you keep.  We’re homebodies, yes, but I can’t think of anyone I’d rather be at home with.

Your song of the night is “I Like The Way This Is Going” by The Eels.  My favorite band sums up my feelings towards my boyfriend pretty perfectly.  When I saw them in May at the Lincoln Theatre, they ended their set with this song (prior to three encores) and I sent a text to my boyfriend, letting him know I was thinking about him.

I like the color of your hair,
I think we make a handsome pair.
I can only see my love growing
I like the way this is going

I like to watch TV with you,
there’s really nothing i would rather do.
Then maybe we can go to bed,
get up and do it all again.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

1 thought on “When We’re Home // “I Like The Way This Is Going””

Leave a Reply

