NaBloPoMo December: Day 1

10636294_10100147834397519_2893443650726328967_n

My boyfriend and I are watching “White Christmas,” singing along with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye and telling stories about Christmases past.  It’s been a nice way to unwind from a busy day.

I had a spur-of-the-moment job interview at a local beauty supply store.  It went well, I guess.  I knew enough about the products to get by, but the manager even said she typically hires students at the local cosmetology school because they’re likely to have wider knowledge of the items sold in the store.  I still tried, and that’s what matters most.

I spent the rest of the day eagerly waiting for my boyfriend to get home so we could hang ornaments on the Christmas tree.  I’ve been battling something lately.  Some seasonal sadness, I guess.  I’m taking account of all the changes that have happened in the last year.  Most of them have been downright wonderful, but a small percentage of them have made a lasting mark (scar?).  There are a lot of people who were in my life this time last year, but they’re not anymore.  There are good reasons for that, I’m sure.  Nevertheless, I’m feeling pangs of loss, on and off.

Anyway, here’s one of my favorite holiday tunes: the instrumental recording of “ChristmasTime is Here” by the Vince Guaraldi Trio.  Beautiful and melancholy.  Like today.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

Leave a Reply

