I’m Dreaming of a White Thanksgiving // “Selfless, Cold, and Composed”

snowing

When a weather forecaster in Maryland says it’s going to snow, there’s a 50% chance that their prediction is complete and utter bullshit.

On this eve of Thanksgiving, however, the forecast is spot on.

I’ve listened to Ben Folds Five’s “Selfless, Cold, and Composed” every time it snows since the age of about 13 of 14, and today was no exception.  It’s not about the lyrics; break up songs don’t typically make me think of snowfall.  The piano, the heart of the song, is like a warm blanket wrapped tight around me.  It’s comforting, much like a Vince Guaraldi Trio song, but my knowledge of “Selfless, Cold, and Composed” predated my obsession with the Vince Guaraldi Trio.  That wouldn’t come until years later.

Being confined to the house all day has given me an opportunity to appreciate stillness.  I watched the snow fall from the comfort of my bed while sipping fresh coffee.  I spent time talking with my sister living abroad, giving her advice on what cheeses to use in her macaroni and cheese for her own Thanksgiving celebration tomorrow.  I took a nap with my boyfriend’s 16 month old nephew curled up on my stomach.  I ran around the front yard with my boyfriend’s niece, frolicking in the snow.  I had the opportunity to nap with my boyfriend midday when he arrived home from work early.  And it has been absolutely wonderful.

There’s a lot to be thankful for this year.

I’ve got a lot of warm and fuzzy feelings right now, which is a nice change of pace.  My boyfriend and I are in bed watching TV.  I’m going to end this post here and enjoy cuddling him. Short and sweet.

Goodnight, y’all.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

3 thoughts on “I’m Dreaming of a White Thanksgiving // “Selfless, Cold, and Composed””

Leave a Reply

