Long Drives // “Here We Go”

1450802_10152098158903352_2128275629_n

I like long car rides with my boyfriend.

When we’re in the car with each other, just cruising between destinations, not manically looking for the right street to turn onto or squabbling over what kind of music to listen to, we have these really great talks.  We end up finding out something new about one another every time.  It’s pretty fantastic.

Tonight’s ride was the perfect way to end the evening.  Following one of the more successful dinners at my parents’ house, we stopped at the gas station to pick up some cherry cokes and a pack of cigarettes (for me) and then set out on our hour long drive back home.  I asked him a few questions to clarify some things he once told me about his early 20’s and his college experience.  The more he spoke, the more I identified with him, and the closer I felt to him.

He’s playing Counter-Strike right now and I’m sitting on the couch typing away.  When we got back to our apartment, he immediately wanted to snuggle.  I couldn’t, however.  I needed to type up another blog post because I made a commitment to blogging every day for 30 days.  He didn’t get upset with me, nor did he pout.  Instead, he was encouraging.  He didn’t belittle my hobby at all.  It’s pretty cool.

I’m incredibly lucky; this is the most comfortable I’ve been with a partner.  I don’t feel the need to “wear masks” anymore.  “Being myself” has been a novel concept, not an actuality until now.  He embraces my brand of weird and lets me know every day that our oddball qualities complement each other.  It’s a new, beautiful feeling for me.  I am who I am and he gets that and loves me for it, not in spite of it.  I’m thankful for his presence in my life.

NaBloPoMo has been a struggle these last few days, and tonight is not any better because I’d rather spent the last few hours before bed with him.  Here’s hoping tomorrow comes with renewed spirit and passion for writing.

I leave you with “Here We Go” by Jon Brion.  It’s a song I’ve loved for years and years since seeing “Punch Drunk Love.”  The lyrics are spot-on with how I’ve been feeling about finding a partner.  “You’ve gotta hope that there’s someone for you, as strange as you are, who can cope with the things that you do without trying too hard.”

Hope is no longer necessary.  I think I’m good in that department now.  Goodnight, y’all.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

1 thought on “Long Drives // “Here We Go””

Leave a Reply

