The thing about challenges

NaBloPoMo November 2014

Hey, y’all! Happy Halloween!

Yesterday I made a post about November’s NaBloPoMo and creating a 30-day challenge for myself. When I sat down to create the challenge-a-day list, I gave myself prompts such as “describe the basics about myself,” and “describe how my favorite song relates to my life.” I made it through day 5 with enough ease.

And then I got tired, made a sandwich, and took a nap.

Upon waking up and reexamining the list, however, I came to the conclusion that writing in itself is the challenge. I’ve never really had the discipline to write EVERY DAY. The next month will be an exercise in discipline to say the least, and if I reach some semblance of self-discovery, that would be cool too.

The thought of imposing prompts on my writing is too overwhelming, to be honest. When I blog, I blog about a memory a song triggered, or the way I’m feeling at that exact moment in time.

Long story short, I’ve decided to forego prompts and write from the heart.

My heart has moxie, my heart has grit. I’ll continue to write like a motherfucker, and I’ll make that happen come November 1st.

Author: Leila

Just another case of arrested development.

4 thoughts on “The thing about challenges”

  1. If found you thru the NaBloPoMo blog roll and I usually write spur of the moment from the heart posts too. I do resort to link-ups and prompts at times. I try to remind myself that this is about writing/posting EVERY day..not neccessarily about quality and creativity…though I do strive for that too.

    Like

    1. Same. I’m using the month as an excuse to get into the practice. It’s difficult. Like, I haven’t made a post today. But I know I must. Practice, practice, practice.

      Like

  2. I also found you from the BlogHer NaBloPoMo list. I know there will be a couple entries that I’ll have to plan in advance, just because of traveling for Thanksgiving, but I’m much more the inspired-by-this-song-to-write something type. Good luck to us both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

